Can you tell me about my grandmother's pearls?

preraphaelite

These pearls belonged to my grandmother, I am assuming they were purchased sometime between the 1950's and the 1980's. But that is just a guess. They do feel gritty when I rub two pearls together.

Being a novice, I would like some reassurance that they are genuine. However, if they are not, they still mean the world to me for sentimental reasons.

I would like to buy some pearl studs to wear with them, so I am hoping to find some that match reasonably well. If anyone can recommend some places where I could look for some studs that are very affordable yet with a beautiful luster, I'm all ears! :)

Sorry, these are taken with my phone and I don't have a macro setting. This is as close as I could get:

pearls1.jpg

pearls2.jpg

pearls3.jpg

pearls4.jpg

pearls5.jpg

pearls6.jpg

pearls7.jpg

pearls8.jpg

pearls9.jpg

pearls10.jpg

pearls11.jpg

pearls12.jpg

You have a 3.5 momme strand of Japanese akoya pearls. The 3.5 momme stands for the weight of the strand - 1 momme = 3.75 grams - an ancient unit of measure used in Japan, and actually spelled "monme". Cultured pearls were very expensive in the mid part of the century, so the fashion was to graduate the strands to approximately 7 mm in the center.

It looks like the strand has been very well cared for and is in great condition and has even been knotted somewhat recently in the current style, not the original knotting style. That's something you don't see very often. I don't see much in the way of yellowing in the strand, but I've never seen an old one without it, so it may just not be coming through in the photo. When strands have this aging coloration, they can be very difficult to match. Most often we've looked for pairs with a strong, strong ivory body color with slight rose overtones. But even then sometimes it isn't possible to get a perfect match.