What is this?

livjux

Screenshot_20181003-092845_Gallery.jpgScreenshot_20181003-092903_Gallery.jpgScreenshot_20181003-092903_Gallery.jpg hi and good morning from Norway. I hope you can see my photos.I bought this for fun from ebay just to see what it was. Is is sold as "genuine tahitian pearls". I never believed is tahitian, but dyed freshwater. Am I right? I expected to get something more off- round. As you can see the narced has some bumps and lumps and even white spots/holes in it. Are the pearls just dyed on the surface? I'm asking because I want to learn. I'm new to this, but I see I can easily get hooked and addicted to this😅.Screenshot_20181003-092927_Gallery.jpgScreenshot_20181003-092927_Gallery.jpg

Yes, to me they look like dyed freshwaters. Many freshwaters are now being cultured with a bead nucleus, hence the roundness.

There are so many FWP being sold on eBay as genuine Tahitians, akoya and South Sea. More often than not, if you buy pearls on eBay-- especially from China-- they will be freshwater pearls.

Here is a paragraph from our Pearl Education section:

"Some Pearls Are Artificially Colored
It is important to note that many pearls are artificially colored. This is widely practiced with freshwater, akoya, and at times Tahitian pearls. The colors are artificially infused by a treatment known as dyeing, or by subjecting the pearls to irradiation. These treated colors are typically easy to spot by a trained observer who may peer down the drill hole looking for concentrations of color, which indicates the presence of dye, or a darkened pearl nucleus, which indicates radiation treatment."
https://www.pearl-guide.com/forum/content.php?82-Pearl-Color

And you can read more in the section on Pearl Treatments:
https://www.pearl-guide.com/forum/content.php?92-Pearl-Treatments