Size of the nucleus

L

lochi

I don't know whether this is the right forum to post this Q in (since it could go under tahiitian pearls/ss/ or fw) but here it is: how big is the nucleus used in akoya/tahitian/south sea pearls? does it depend on the size of the pearl? or the type of pearl? or the location or farm it is cultured in? and if it is a standard size mop bead that is used, then that would mean (logically) that the bigger the pearl the thicker the nacre, right?

I don't know whether there has been a discussion of this topic before -- i've read most of the other threads related to fw/ss pearls but couldn't find info on this... if it has been discussed elsewhere, pls. point me to it :)

I'm very new to the whole pearl scene and started collecting a couple of years ago. To be quite honest for many years I did not even like pearls :)eek: ) because I always wondered: what so great about a round ball that doesn't sparkle (like diamonds). that is, until i rec'd my very first fw strand for my b-day... and now I can't imagine owning any other type of gem. I love this forum and am so happy that I found it... great info and great people. would love any any help on this subject.

Hi Lochi,

You probably have found out already that freshwater cultured pearls are for the most part solid nacre and the ones with a bead inside cost more anyway.

Akoya PPBs (pearl plated beads) have a large bead and little nacre covering. On principle, the smaller the akoya the greater its ratio of nacre to nucleus and vice versa. In short, if you like akoyas buy small ones. Big akoyas are a waste of money. They are also heavily treated and the treatments wear off. The bead largely determines the final size of the PPB. The current standard for thick nacre in akoyas is 0.25mm (that is the thickness of line drawn with a freshly sharpened number 2 pencil) but most commercially available akoya PPBs come nowhere near that.