pearl biz newbie, what china shows to attend?

M

missmouse

wow!
am i glad i found this website. awesome information!

i am a jewelry designer and small-time seller of jewelry in the US. i live in Shang-Hai (i am an american) so naturally i buy pearls and various semi-precious gem-stones here. however, so far i have only bought through the pearl markets in hong-qiao and nanjing road. i would like to attend some trade shows here, but am looking for suggestions on the best ones. are there shows that include fashion jewelry? i can also travel to beijing or hong kong.

my other question is: what exactly am i getting at the hongqiao market? is it all junk? i don't really sell strands of pearls, mostly fashion pieces with pearls mixed in, so i am not really looking for mikimoto quality stuff, just stuff that is pretty and will last. are there better sources in shanghai?

BTW, i deal almost exclusively with Ling Ling on nanjing road. i have seen their name mentioned here and wonder if others have experience with them. every once in awhile i will deal with Ru Pei Pei, but their prices seem inflated to me and i have not had good experiences with the sales staff (i speak mandarin).

again, this forum is an amazing resource. thank you so much in advance for any feedback.

thanks!
erin

There are several good fairs, but I think the Hong Kong shows are the best. They always attract the most suppliers. There is actually a show in about 3 weeks.
The Shenzhen fair is also good. It typically has more local suppliers so you do not have to weed through all the HK traders.
I would not necessarily say that all the pearls are junk at Hongqiao and on Nanjing. True, there is a lot of low-quality that passes through as these markets target tourists, but there are some dealers that carry high-quality freshwater pearls.