Need advice on design

EileenK

So I am new to pearls. I have bought a pair of Edisons from pearl paradise (they are brilliant, by the way). Brady of PP says this pair is between 15 mm to 16 mm.

They have to be rings or earrings. At the moment, I am leaning towards the idea of earrings. These are the designs I am looking at:

south-sea-pearl-diamond-cluster-earrings.jpg

Or this one:

Pearl earrings design 2.jpg

Instead of diamonds, I want to use pink sapphire marquis. `14K rose gold.

Would these huge 15 to 16 mm pearls be just too heavy? Of course like every other woman, I like them big. But there is so much ears can take. Please let me know if my wish is logical, or I should just scrap the idea and go for setting these two pearls as rings.

I don't have a picture of the pearls - they are good FWP Edisons. They cannot be drops because of a blemish.

Thank you in advance.

Eileen!!! Wwwoooooo those are beautiful design settings!!!

I think to begin with it depends on your own weight bearing capacity and preference for earrings vs rings? Exp a lot of ladies on this site have limited neck weight bearing but I can layer unlimited number of ropes onto my neck, but my earlobe can not handle very much. You should try a few things out to see where your comfort level stand. Also a lot of ladies here recommend Lobe Wonders to help support heavy earrings.

Personally, I don't know if these earrings are simple stud earrings, or have other kind of mechanism? Example I have earrings that have a spring type of closure in a big upside down U the "encloses" the post and I find those to allow me to wear heavier earrings.

And do you tend to wear one type of jewelry more than another? I'm a total ring person, so for me, the item gets a lot more wear as a ring.

My earlobes can only take 12mm pearls max, bigger than that it's too heavy and my earlobes fall down to the floor. I'd opt to have them set as rings.

Purranha