Miki Akoya and Coral Necklace - or is it?

charliefarlie

I am new to pearls being more of a gemstone gal but couldn't resist this little necklace from ebay. It's pretty as costume jewellery but was sold as Mikimoto Pearl and Coral. I have searched the internet for similar pieces and found nothing. Some help would be greatly appreciated. I plan to take to Mikimoto for a clean and don't really want to turn up with fakes!

The pearls feel rough on the tooth and are pretty uneven. I wouldn't expect this from new Akoya but the necklace is 33 years old so this may be what damage looks like. The coral is mainly pale pink/peach with some white bits. It is approx 14" long and the pearls are approx 5mm diameter.

There are no marks on the clasp and I have checked with a 10x loupe.

The pearls came in a Mikimoto box with completed Silver Seal guarantee booklet, seal with two reference numbers, and a leaflet showing a pearl and coral collection from Miki showing a necklace very similar to the one I bought.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. IMG_2350.jpgIMG_2347.jpgIMG_2361.jpgIMG_2363.jpg

Well, hum. I don't know. The pearls don't look like Mikimoto quality and the clasp doesn't have the Mikimoto trademark. On the other hand you have documenation. Take them to Mikimoto and they can tell you for sure. If all you had was the Mikimoto box, I'd think that someone just put a random necklace in the box. But if you have the documentation and the brochure, then I think you need a Mikimoto expert to take a look. It might be real, or it might be that someone make a copy of the real necklace.