looking for information on how to buy a pearl necklace

slhpearlguy

greetings Pearl people,

i am totally new to the site and this is my first post. i am trying to figure out and learn some stuff about pearls so i can buy a nice pearl necklace for my wife.
i understand that i would rather have cultured pearls and that after going to a few jewelers, i would get a 6.5-7 millimeter size necklace.
does it matter about the color, are the ones with a pink hue good or is that bad. am i looking for a pearl with a clear color.
i am a total beginner and looking for advice.
i have heard of the Mikimoto pearls, i would imiagine that they are the best, but i only have a limited budget.
this is what i would like. 16 inch chain necklace. i understand that there are ratings of pearls.... do i only get AAA or can i still get AA or no.

any advice appreciated. are the pearls certified like a diamond..

thanks in advance

jeff

p.s. yes i am a total beginner so any advice and help appreciated

Welcome!

Just a few things off the top of my head to get this started:

• With a limited budget (and really, don't most of us have one?) you can get more bang for your buck by shopping online. Any of the sellers you will see here on P-G are reliable sources. I've bought various pearls from PearlParadise.com and can recommend them if you are in the USA. There are vendors in UK and "down under" here too.

• Unless your wife is very petite/young, consider going larger. 6.5-7mm is rather on the small side, and there is such a thing as pearl size inflation-- all us ladies want larger pearls as time goes by!

• Generally CFWP (cultured freshwater pearls) will cost significantly less than similar quality cultured Akoyas. In addition, the CFWP are all nacre in most cases, so are very durable. And those nice pink and lavender colors are found in CFWP; in the case of Akoya, there are natural blue-ish and yellowish colors but the black ones are dyed.