Is this a Mikimoto brooch

Bab4444

IMG_1597.jpeg
IMG_1601.jpeg
IMG_1612.jpeg

I am told this is a Mikimoto grape pearl brooch I purchased a a thrift store. I don’t believe it is authentic. Any help will be appreciated.

Bab4444, trust your instincts. I am not an expert but I have a few vintage Mikimoto brooches and none of them are set like this. One of the things I like about their brooches apart from the pearls of course, is the very clean setting - nearly all prong set with no excess glue ever. Also look at the mark - it is applied rather than inset into the metal. I don't think that I have ever seen an applied mark before on Mikimoto. Further, IMO the hinge looks a bit flat. The hinge on a lot of vintage Japanese brooches and Mikimoto in particular is usually quite rounded.

So I think your belief is correct. Hope this helps.

I don’t know much of Mikimoto’s brooch but IMHO this setting simply looks too ragged on the solder joints to be Mikimoto. Besides, the little piece that carries the logo/hallmarks is not even a good rectangle, leaving the margin between the logo and the edge looking cramped.

Last edited:
I’ve attached more pictures. My camera is not perfect… There is no glue whatsoever around the pearls and I assure you there’s nothing ragged about this piece. I did test it and it comes up 18k. Not silver… Members on other sites say it’s authentic but I just don’t know.

Bab4444, trust your instincts. I am not an expert but I have a few vintage Mikimoto brooches and none of them are set like this. One of the things I like about their brooches apart from the pearls of course, is the very clean setting - nearly all prong set with no excess glue ever. Also look at the mark - it is applied rather than inset into the metal. I don't think that I have ever seen an applied mark before on Mikimoto. Further, IMO the hinge looks a bit flat. The hinge on a lot of vintage Japanese brooches and Mikimoto in particular is usually quite rounded.