Introduction and questions

T

tahitiangirl

Hi everyone!
My name is Stephanie and I am 16 and have a passions for gems, jewelry, and especially tahitian pearls. I have been checking out this forum for a few months now and finally joined. I really think that all of the experts on this forum are very helpful and I was wondering if you could possibly take some time to answer a few questions.
1) I am thinking of purchasing a 10mm round tahitian pearl pendant set in 18k white gold with a .03 pave diamond. The piece costs $250. Now, from what I understand that is inexpensive. The woman who I am buying from says the pearl was not fake or treated. Is this a good deal?:confused:

I would also like to ask some questions about education. Such as GIA or any colleges that offer course and/or degrees in gemology.

Hi Stephanie,

As far as your pendant goes, US$ 250 for a 10mm Tahitian and a diamond chip is a good deal in bricks-and-mortar world but you can do better online (http://www.pearlparadise.com/detail.aspx?ID=190 ).

The GIA is not actually a university or any other kind of academic institution. I am not quite sure what it is really good for, but whatever it is it does not include protecting consumer interests in pearl purchases. Having said that, the GIA will give you a pretty certificate to hang on your wall and impress customers with when you have your own bricks-and-mortar store. It is unlikely to help you get a job in a jeweler's store but it does come with a presumption that in the future you will know what you are talking about or at least where to look up the answers first.

Zeide

Last edited by a moderator: