Hello All What kind of pearls are these, please?

gauntlettgems

IMG_0670.jpg
IMG_0673.jpg
IMG_0674.jpg
Does the FIC on the clasp really mean Fiery Ideal Cut? Is this attributed to beiing Akoya?
There is also a V and 14k on the clasp I am thinking these have a little age to them or are vintage
I would think these are saltwater but I am no expert They appear to be free of blemishes other than a few lines/ridges that go around a couple of them They have a beautiful, bright, white luster What shape are these considered?

Any help is very much appreciated TYIA

Hi gauntlettgems, and welcome to Pearl-Guide.

FIC would be the mark of the manufacturer of the clasp. (I don't know the manufacturer, though.)

I believe your pearls are cultured freshwater pearls from China. I have freshwater pearls that look like that. That oval/drop shape (they used to call it "rice") was very common in the 1990s/early 2000s, and the price of gold jumped after that, so it's not too surprising that the clasp is gold; probably the beads between the pearls are gold as well, though you might want to be sure of that (test one) if you plan to sell the bracelet.

What does surprise me is the color of the thread. I can't imagine why white thread wasn't used. :confused:

The principal value of the bracelet is in the metal, not the pearls. The pearls are nice examples of pearls of that shape, but the Chinese have come a long way in how they culture pearls since then, and these shapes are not highly valued now.

I want to add that when that bracelet was originally sold, it would have been considered a good quality, nice bracelet-- hence the use of gold. Nowadays I'd use silver or gold filled findings for pearls of that quality and value.

Last edited:
It left that black fuzz around the drill holes. Odd choice of thread for sure.