Fireline thread

I only use Fireline to string sharp edged faceted gemstone beads or swarovski crystals. Firelines doesn't have the right feel of either Dandyline, beader's secret, or silk thread. Fireline is rather stiff. But that's just what I think about it. I would, however, use Fireline to string pearls in the style of Gellner's necklaces.

Great. Thank you I have cancelled my order of Fireline, and will use the silk I have as I cannot find anywhere in the UK to buy the beaders secret or the power pro.

Trying to get onto that web site but it says not found Grrrr
OK got it. Just virgin media being naughty

My GSS were professionally strung on steel wire with silicone bumpers between the pearls-- I bought them in that condition. The necklace is very comfortable and hangs nicely, but of course if greater flexibility is desired, thread is the way to go.

Thank you I am sorry to be picking your brains all the time but I am a beginner and about to strand my very first pearls as soon as they arrive.

Brain-picking is a regular part of what we do here! We all benefit from it. :)

You will be surprised how easy it is to string your pearls with Pattye's Serafil or Beaders Secret. Be sure to post photos of the finished strand so we can drool!

Last edited:
I was no help here as I have no idea what Fire line is lol (now I do...looked it up ) However I would say to get Beaders Secret as it's quite forgiving if the knot ends up in the wrong spot...not difficult to unpick the knot. It also doesn't stretch as much as Silk if you do long pieces or heavy pearls. And wonderful colours.