Are there pearls with blue overtones?

jiazzi

Hello, I am totally new to pearls but have been reading the forum posts recently. I really like the idea of non-dyed pearls with a blue overtone. Would the peacock overtone I've read about and seen on internet sites be the likely candidate? Just curious if there is such a thing with light colored pearls or if this only applies to black pearls. Hope this all makes sense. I just love the idea of a non-dyed bluish colored pearl. :D

Hi Jiazzi,

I would describe the peacock color as more teal, blue-green to green overtones with a darker background, The blue pearls as shown in the photos are very, very, very rare in the intense color. I have not seen any like that in person as yet. However there are some blue-platinum south sea pearls which are light in color and lavender freshwater pearls with blue overtones, very lovely too! The latter are not so rare and and freshwater are quite affordable also. Yikes, almost forgot about the platinum blue akoyas! Is this what you had in mind?? They are at times offered by several of the online sellers who post here on the forum.
7a3b_1.jpgPhoto by Carolyn Ehret of DruzyDesign.

Pattye
so many pearls, so little time

Last edited by a moderator:
Sigh...Those are so gorgeous!!! Yes, that's exactly what I had in mind. Are these akoyas relatively affordable and available compared to the south sea pearls you described?

I also like the peacock teal color too...that sounds lovely. I will have to start a pearl savings account now.

Hi Again, Jiazzi, and welcome to the fun here!